FF: Various, Sundry, Fun!

Weather is finally cooling into the mid-nineties, and we have rain.  That means I’ve been outdoors a bit more, but I’m still reading.

Kel Contemplates Wirewalking

Kel Contemplates Wirewalking

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Armada by Ernest Cline.  Audiobook.

Harpist in the Wind by Patricia McKillip.  Final book in “Riddle of Stars” series.  I still love this series to pieces.

Girl on a Wire by Gwenda Bond.  I briefly met Ms. Bond at a literary gala in Santa Fe a few weeks ago.  Decided to try one of her novels.  A nicely non-formulaic YA novel, which is saying something because part of the plot riffs off (but doesn’t copy) Romeo and Juliet.

In Progress:

Girl in the Shadows by Gwenda Bond.  New protagonist but it looks as if the fictional Cirque American will provide some continuity.

A Slip of the Keyboard by Terry Pratchett.  Audiobook.  A collection of various talks and essays Pratchett presented over many years.  Fascinating from a SF/F historical perspective in that “givens” change over time (as Pratchett himself comments in notes on older pieces).  Only flaw is that Pratchett is fond of certain phrases or comparisons.  That wasn’t a problem when these pieces were originally presented – often years apart – but jolts me some here.

Also:

Pratchett’s affection for Brewer’s Dictionary of Phrase and Fable made me pull my copy off the shelf and start browsing.  Addictive!

4 Responses to “FF: Various, Sundry, Fun!”

  1. J.M. Marshall Says:

    The ending of “Harpist in the Wind” left me a little cold (no pun intended) at the end when I first read it as a teenager. In my still-new-to-F&SF mind, this was NOT how high fantasy stories were supposed to end. As I got older, I began to appreciate it more and more. I still can’t rank the trilogy among my favorite books, but I still occasionally re-read it and I’ve never forgotten it. It keeps drawing me back in.
    And I do love the map in the original paperbacks, especially when you realize just how small an area of land it is and what might be in the rest of the world.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      I had a similar reaction to the ending on my first reading, too. Now I love it. Relationships between near immortals should be different. And I suspect Morgon and Raederle spent more time together than that.

  2. Paul Says:

    That “Slip of the Keyboard” sounds like fun. Just finished “The Girl on the Train” on audio, with three actresses narrating for the three first-person narrators. Reminded me a bit of “Gone Girl” in its multiple narrations working up to something the reader already knows has happened but lacks details.

    • janelindskold Says:

      I wouldn’t say that SLIP OF THE KEYBOARD is precisely “fun.” Pratchett is brutally honest about some topics, including right to die and what his illness is/was like.

      However, I stuck with it, no matter how grim. I mean, I only had to read about it. He had to LIVE it.

Leave a Reply

