FF: Completely Scattered!

This week, some of my pleasure reading has slid to make room for work-related reading and listening.

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

Ogapoge Lounges

Ogapoge Lounges

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Girl in the Shadows by Gwenda Bond.  A lot of plot parallels to Girl on a Wire, but eventually the book takes its own turn and it’s an interesting one, indeed.

A Slip of the Keyboard by Terry Pratchett.  Audiobook.  A collection of various talks and essays Pratchett presented over many years.  Good collection, overall, despite repetition.

In Progress:

Baby Island by Carol Ryrie Brink.  Came across this used and couldn’t resist trying again.  Possibly the oddest “castaway” book ever.

Cat Among the Pigeons by Agatha Christie.  Audiobook.  Although Dame Agatha is best-known for her murder mysteries, she liked writing thrillers, too.

Also:

Wolf’s Blood by Jane Lindskold.  First time I’ve re-read the book since I did the proofs about ten years ago.

Audio time is shared with listening to samples as a judge for the Parsec Awards for podcasts.

And I can’t resist an entry here and there in Brewer’s Dictionary of Phrase and Fable.

2 Responses to “FF: Completely Scattered!”

  1. henrietta abeyta Says:

    I’m currently in the middle of Wolf’s Blood this week dear Jane. I can’t stop re-reading Spellfall by Katherine Roberts the main characters match the behavior of many popular or well known characters from other fictional stories, and the core is similar to several old favorites of other people.

    This book Spellfall has fictional vocabulary in the back. Magehound is what the wolves are considered in this fictional story. A Soultree is what Spell Lords and Spell Ladies talk in. And a girl named Natalie saves Earthhaven from a guy who was banished years ago. This book has unicorns and wolves as the main animals, and it also has bears and stags as the other animals who watch over Earthhaven altogether.

    I’d consider Spellfall by Katherine Roberts one of the short books that are the most fun to read.

    You could say my lesson today was how your opinions cause most of your emotions but lacking self-acceptance can cause some of the worst feelings. I can tell Blind Seer isn’t refusing to be flexible he just wants to be careful with his necessities and wisdom as well as his main decisions when he’s talking with the sheep who laughs at him in the 16th chapter of Wolf’s Blood. And I have sympathy about him only telling Firekeeper about the dream because sometimes it feels like only Grandma will understand what I’m talking about, especially when it’s something quite personal.

    Insight and Sympathy in Physical health

    Affinity and Imagination in mental health

    Enthusiasm and Confidence in emotional health

    These are the ways wolves have helped me repeatedly when it comes to having some hints about your heart and soul as well as what’s the right thing to do. I’m not sure my life would pictured so clearly without my good unexpected lessons I’ve had from their stories, so there I know several science facts of the wolves, with real sympathy however my gratitude of emotional support from my wolf visions isn’t any joke at all.

    I have my Autism and Epilepsy but I function enough that I’m always open for learning and when you want to find those who teach you in the clearest communication the wolf would be my answer of who gives me the clearest guidance besides you and Grandma. The wolves I actually have easier time with than the silent standing still angels. Wolves express themselves enough that I’m able to picture the very same events happening to both one after the other wolf or human. I have no trouble visualizing life. Plus my unusual level of loyalty.

    When it’s angels I just get confused, is this angel annoyed, scared, busy, relaxed, sad, mad, or is this angel trying to give a warning, the angels are too quiet for me to understand what’s going on. However my disabilities create enough real sympathy with wolves that I can usually guess their current emotion while I read their various types of tales.

  2. henrietta abeyta Says:

    The good thing with Blind Seer’s support is he helps me distinguish various types of conversation, he helps me see the serious moments of needing to be cautious while doing something on your own, whether it’s a moment of trying to listen to your conscience or a moment of making a personal decision carefully.

    Blind Seer has a clear enough behavior to help me picture how to be careful in public or how to speak carefully while I’m passing strangers on the streets. I clearly understand the endurance wolves show dear Jane.

    Jasmine Olson saying what Blind Seer helps her visualize quick enough to help her move on without difficulty.

Leave a Reply

