FF: Post-Con Reading

Bubonicon was fun, but it cut into my reading time.

Kel Thinks "Fuzzy" is a Great Title

Kel Thinks “Fuzzy” is a Great Title

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Wolf Hunting by Jane Lindskold.  Reading a series backwards has a weird appeal.  It’s a fascinating way to see just how characters grow.

Monstress by Majorie Liu and Sana Takeda.  Comic book.  Issues 1-6.  Gorgeous illustrations and a story that became stronger as it progressed.

Fuzzy by Tom Angleberger and Paul Dellinger.  Middle grade fiction.  A robot is sent to middle school for reasons that actually work in the context of the story.  I’d expected good middle school (because Mr. Angleberger is very good at that).  However, I found myself enjoying as SF as well.

In Progress:

Tarzan by Edgar Rice Burroughs.  Audiobook.  Sometimes an audiobook is a great way to re-experience an old favorite because of the re-immersive element.

Wolf Captured by Jane Lindskold.  The backwards series reading experience continues.

Also:

Had a glitch with our download of Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal, the audiobook, so I’m going to need to start this over when it’s available again.

10 Responses to “FF: Post-Con Reading”

  1. henrietta abeyta Says:

    Jane Lindskold ma’am Blind Seer doesn’t only help me see handling independence with caution and steps of doing things wisely while you’re in public, the proverbs you allow Blind Seer to say are smart enough that I feel like putting some of them in one of my spiral notebooks.

    Jasmine Olson expressing how extremely fun and helpful she considers this 6 book series.

    • janelindskold Says:

      Thanks! I’ve actually considered doing a book of Blind Seer’s proverbs with illustrations where possible.

      • henrietta abeyta Says:

        You’re welcome Jane, Spellfall is a stand-alone fantasy book I I’m a bit impatient to have at home I repeatedly find another fiction cast to compare the core with or even just comparing the support Natalie and her magehound (wolf) haha, with other good books like yours. Spellfall has a few made up words to look at on the last pages. I enjoy comparing it so much that I have trouble taking it back to the library Jane.
        Unicorns are the other main animal.

  2. Paul Says:

    I’d seen scads of Tarzan movies b fore I read the first book in the series, and was shocked at the ending.

    • janelindskold Says:

      I’ve only seen a few of the movies, but the books — especially the earlier ones — are very gritty.

      • Louis Robinson Says:

        Hmmm… obviously it behooves me to reread it. What sticks in my mind is that it ended with “True Love Wins the Day – Stiff Upper Lip Style”

        Must have something to do with where I was growing up.

      • janelindskold Says:

        I think one would need to be in the right frame of mind to re-read. There are definitely flaws and some of the cultural attitudes definitely belong to the time. But I have a soft spot for Tarzan that carries me through.

    • henrietta abeyta Says:

      Well I have all three of the Disney animated movies of Tarzan. And they share real loyalty not only real love. The young female gorilla’s nice too she’s skillful at encouraging Tarzan to try to achieve when possible. It doesn’t matter what the story is I have a soft spot for the weak.

      Myths, fables, legends, fantasy, fiction with a feral person, normal fiction, or a story that explains religious beliefs a bit. I’m indeed an explorer, I don’t mind which type of story I’m watching or reading but I do better with animated movies. But my courage and tolerance are real too!

      Plus my steadfast loyalty with all wolf species which made me choose several wolf movies, not just a few of their respectful fiction books.

      Jasmine Olson speaking

  3. henrietta abeyta Says:

    I like Tarzan’s Soundtrack, Brother Bear’s Soundtrack, and Phil Collins CD titled Testify. Testify has a few songs that change my emotion quickly.

    Jasmine Olson sharing agreement of Tarzan and two other Phil Collins CDs that entertain her.

Leave a Reply

