FF: Writing Trumps Reading

To be productive, I need to both read and write.  Or write and read.  This week, writing has trumped reading.

Persephone Has a Tummy!

Persephone Has a Tummy!

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The Squire’s Tale by Gerald Morris.  Middle grade Arthurian.  Terence, the squire, is mostly the point of view character with whom we watch other’s adventures, but by the end he’s taking a role himself.  I’ll definitely look for the next one in the series.

In Progress:

Tarzan by Edgar Rice Burroughs.  Audiobook.  Sometimes an audiobook is a great way to re-experience an old favorite because of the re-immersive element.  I’m through Tarzan’s childhood and he’s just kidnapped Jane.

A Long Way from Chicago by Richard Peck.  Eight short stories connect by the “frame” that they are each annual summer visits by Joey and his sister, Mary Alice, to their eccentric (to understate the case) grandmother.  First story is set in 1929, with good historical detailing.

Wolf Captured by Jane Lindskold.  The backwards series reading experience continues.

Also:

Both The Squire’s Tale and A Long Way from Chicago were recommended to me by Chad Merkley, a regular Commenter on this post and others.  I really enjoy your suggestions, even if I can’t always get to them right away.

11 Responses to “FF: Writing Trumps Reading”

  1. James M. Six Says:

    re; “Tarzan”
    The book contains one part in the beginning that the movies get wrong almost all the time. Young John Clayton was already a toddler, able to walk, when he was orphaned and adopted by anthropoid apes (not gorillas). It’s a minor detail but, I think, significant … old enough to walk upright, old enough to have feelings, if not memories, of human parentage.

    Yes, the science of Tarzan is rubbish in many respects, but I liked that Burroughs included that one bit which made a tiny bit of sense … and then I start thinking about the state of American science in 1912 … and the soon-to-come Scopes trial … and I wonder what it must have been like to FIRST read that story back then.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      I’m not sure what edition you read, but he’d not a toddler in the one I just finished. He’s precisely a year old.

      I quote: “A year from the day her little son was born Lady Alice passed quietly in the night.”

      In his shock and grief, John Clayton Senior neglects to be cautious, and so is slain in turn by Kerchak.

      Tarzan is an infant in a cradle, still nursing, when Kala leaves the corpse of her recently dead child behind and adopts a newly orphaned infant in its stead.

      Given that there are numerous examples of cross species adoptions, this is more possible than naysayers tend to state.

      But you’re right about Tarzan’s apes not being gorillas. Burroughs says when describing Kala, “…a species closely allied to the gorilla, yet more intelligent…”

      • Louis Robinson Says:

        You needn’t be reading different editions: at one most humans are toddling or on the cusp of it. They also show pretty clear signs of recognising what speech is, although many can still get away with pretending they don’t understand it 😉

        IOW, as James says, the first steps towards humanisation have already been taken.

        I have to admit to not finishing anything for several weeks. I think I’m starting to understand why: I had to parse this week’s title twice before realising that no, that wasn’t a possessive, and it took me even longer to grasp that you had not just read The Squirrel’s Tale. Luckily, it’s almost curling season, which should shake my brain out of its summer shut down.

      • Jane Lindskold Says:

        Yes. Most babies take their first steps between a nine months and a year. However, the term “toddler” usually is applied (in my experience at least) to those charming holy terrors who are moving freely although awkwardly. Based on comments later on, where Kala worries that Tarzan is somehow retarded in his abilities, he clearly is not to that point.

      • Louis Robinson Says:

        In my experience, they have no need to wait until they’re up on their hind legs to do any of that! You’ve clearly led a sheltered adulthood 🙂

      • Jane Lindskold Says:

        Hardly, as the eldest of four and a babysitter from a time when (these days) I’d still be expected to need a sitter, I know kids all too well.

  2. henrietta abeyta Says:

    People please don’t mention this name too much in this blog page, I’m with my loyal Grandma but I can only tolerate Hillary when I here this other name(Trump) I’m scared for the world not only my family and struggle repressing this fear! Immediate danger and hundreds of people being harmed by terrible strong emotions are what Trump can make me picture, but with Hillary I only wonder what the changes would be.

    I hope you’re only mentioning a normal difficulty as you spoke of reading and writing in this way on this blog dear friend Jane.
    Trump upsets me!

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      The word “trump” is not only a name. It is a term from cards that refers to a card that is “stronger” and so will score over another.

      We do not discuss politics here. Only books.

      • henrietta abeyta Says:

        I had no idea of these cards, and the two of us helped this page stay efficient, we all know quite well how video pages online are treated. Thanks I’m still your fan. I meant nothing unruly. But Jane Another way you helped me this time is you thoughtfully helped my disabilities stay controlled, when my stress is super high it seems like the room around me is spinning this is one of my seizure problems. And Autism can sometimes cause serious confusion.

        Resisting politely and speaking firmly without arguing is what I’ve started to understand the steps of, with the help of good characters like Firekeeper, when she talks with the Meddler. To gain strength this way was a pleasure.

      • Jane Lindskold Says:

        Thanks, Jasmine. It’s good to know that even the Meddler can be — indirectly — a help!

  3. henrietta abeyta Says:

    A much more positive thing can I tell you is I understand potential questions included on totem animal pages well enough that what I learned quickly this week is, Believe In Who You Are, And Follow Your Heart It’s Good To Have Self-assurance And Self-respect Arrive Together!

    In this comment I’m sharing my pleasure of what happened recently. Jasmine Olson again.

Leave a Reply

