FF: Not Much

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

Kel with German edition of Treecat Wars

Kel with German edition of Treecat Wars

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The Return of Tarzan by Edgar Rice Burroughs.  Audiobook.  Two separate tales side by side.  Reads like something written to be serialized, with alternating cliffhangers.  Does anyone know if it was?

In Progress:

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater.  Audiobook.  I read this as a print version a while back, because our library didn’t have the audio then.  It does now.  I love this reader and am seriously considering buying the recorded version rather than or as well as the print.

Also:

Last night before bed I read the entire section on versions of the Bible in Brewer’s Dictionary of Phrase and Fable.  When I got to the “Printer’s Bible,” given what I’d read before, I laughed out loud.

5 Responses to “FF: Not Much”

  1. Peter Says:

    The Return of Tarzan was, indeed, originally published as a serial (June through December 1913, with the first book edition coming in 1915.)

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      Thanks, Peter! That was typical at the time, so I suspected it, but it’s lovely to have confirmation that what my “writer brain” was perceiving as I went through the story is indeed true.

      Be interesting to know if the current resurgence of serials will lead to similar structures becoming popular again.

      I’ve always tried to write so each chapter ends with something to make you want to turn the page, so it’s fascinating.

      • Peter Says:

        My best guess is “no” – partly because tastes have changed, partly because “end the chapter with a hook for the next” has become a fairly standard item in the auctorial toolkit, and partly because – in my experience, anyway – there’s less of a publication gap with modern serials. While there was a space of over a year between the publication of the last installment of Return of Tarzan (Dec. 1913) and the first hardcover edition (March 1915), a lot of modern serials go straight to the collected edition once the final installment comes out (sometimes even the same day). Electronic and POD publishing make this a lot easier, of course.

        Tangentially, I have a strong love-hate relationship with the practice of ending each chapter with something that makes me want to immediately turn the page. As much as I love it when a book sucks me in and won’t let me put it down, I’m getting too old to deal the aftermath when I sit down to read a few chapters before bed, then look up and realize the morning sun is pouring through the window and I have to be at work in two hours…

  2. Paul Says:

    You can even argue that the entire book of “Tarzan of the Apes” was a kind of serial chapter, given how it ended – not at all with Tarzan being with Jane. Burroughs’ first two John Carter books also had cliffhanger endings, especially the second one.

  3. henrietta abeyta Says:

    Perseverance of Firekeeper, and the real loyalty of Blind Seer, in combination make it simple to keep turning the page especially if you’re studying the steps of stuff like real confidence.

    Have courage to reach for the lights, and believe in who you are, and follow your heart too, because these 3 keys can help you avoid distraction. No one really stops you from going the distance, it’s frustration that challenges you, so try to gain faith.

Leave a Reply

