FF: Long and Short of It

I’ve been reading a lot of shorter material, in part as preparation for two forthcoming events.  October 1, 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. I’ll be signing and speaking at the new Author Fest to benefit the Albuquerque Museum.  October 3, 9:00 a.m. I’m taking part in “Meet the Authors: Exploring the Creative Process” at UNM.  Details for both are available on my website.

"Wow!  This is a FAT book."

“Wow! This is a FAT book.”

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

As I said, lot of short fiction, including the most recent issue of Fantasy and Science Fiction and some award winners from years past.

In Progress:

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater.  Audiobook.  I read this as a print version a while back, because our library didn’t have the audio then.  It does now.  I love this reader and am seriously considering buying the recorded version rather than or as well as the print.

The Squire, His Knight, and His Lady by Gerald Morris.  Standalone sequel to The Squire’s Tale, which I read a few weeks ago.  So far, great fun.

Also:

Typing and reviewing my own recent additions to a manuscript.  Takes time but very absorbing.

6 Responses to “FF: Long and Short of It”

  1. Louis Robinson Says:

    I’m going to have to track down The Savage Damsel and the Dwarf, simply to find out if this line in the description is true: “she is joined in her quest by a clever dwarf and a bold kitchen knave, neither of whom are not what they seem”

    • Jim Says:

      I’m reading “The Savage Damsel and the Dwarf” now. So far all the signs are that the book does indeed live up to this description. Great fun!

  2. James M. Six Says:

    Will you be doing the one-chapter-a-night reread of “A Night in the Lonesome October” for Twitter this year?

  3. henrietta abeyta Says:

    I like long mythical series better than short fables. I’ll sure be exploring wizardry this weekend with Dealing With Dragons, and A Wizard Of Earthsea.

    What I like about when it’s a mythical series is such sets fit all 3 myth, legend, and fable, and some also fit science fiction. Plus these longer mythical stories usually explain the main message in a clearer way than the short ones.

    And an Author Fest sounds fun / enjoyable Jane.

Leave a Reply

