FF: Many Flavors of SF/F

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

Kel Contemplates

Kel Contemplates

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater.  Audiobook.  I love “The Raven Cycle.”  Irrationally much.

The Savage Damsel and the Dwarf by Gerald Morris.  Enjoyed.  And the savage damsel is indeed fierce, the dwarf small, and the knight…  Well, neither as fierce as the damsel, and much smaller (souled) than the dwarf.

Interstellar Pig by William Sleator.  A chat with a friend reminded me I loved this insane novel, so I had to re-read.

In Progress:

Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal.  Audiobook.

Welcome to Golden by Rory McClannahan.  I sat next to Rory at the Albuquerque Museum Author Festival and heard him talk about this book.  Virtual reality meets retirement community.  Sounds like a good idea.

Also:

Reading about masks, because Halloween is coming.

9 Responses to “FF: Many Flavors of SF/F”

  1. James M. Six Says:

    Recently completed:

    A Dark Traveling, by Roger Zelazny (re-read) – the ending is rather abrupt, a little bit like the end of The Hobbit where Bilbo gets hit on the head and when he wakes up it’s all over, but it makes sense in context.

    The Hammer of Darkness, by L.E. Modesitt (re-read) – space opera; what if you were a super-powerful esper but refused to take on the role of a “god” like the other super-powerful espers? And then what if the other gods pushed you too far? Uneven, with plotholes, but the emotional core of the protagonist is there.

    Still in progress:
    A Night in the Lonesome October, by Roger Zelazny re-read) – I’ve given up tweeting comments day by day but I’ll keep reading it that way until the end.

    I think I’ll try something new (to me) for my next choice.

    • janelindskold Says:

      The Modesitt sounds like a take on Roger Zelazny’s LORD OF LIGHT. Any similarity besides what is obvious from the above?

    • James M. Six Says:

      Some similar themes. Modesitt uses Western myth, mostly. Doesn’t have the underlying idea of how best to deal with the people that the gods rule. While Sam pretends religion to oppose religion, Martel (despite his power and despite people who worship him) refuses to accept that he is a god. Although he starts slipping by the end. If Lord of Light is a warning not to let people set themselves up as gods, Hammer of Darkness is a warning to the gods that there’s always a bigger god.

      Less lyrical than Lord of Light, more straightforward.

      No puns.

  2. henrietta abeyta Says:

    Jean Craighead George, her 3 books of Julie can make me laugh a little, the pack’s luck pleases me quite well, and these 3 books help you learn some of the normal challenges of living in the wild.

    Animal or person a taboo list would take all over the place. And Julie’s wolf friends are right it’s usually dangerous to break a taboo.

    This was a pleasant surprise week because I found two fiction books I kept enjoying from the library but I didn’t expect to find at the speed I found them at, they were both a book from the D I store. In fact the second book I found this week The Wolf Wilder I didn’t expect to find at a give away store at all.

    Learning reactions and reasons of each, by surprise mostly from how well I understand various wolf events the wolves themselves they’re clear they help understand the reactions of other animals, and spirit insight from the extra stuff my grandma taught me of behavior. I have real compassion that makes it easier to understand what the wolves are saying whether silent or active, plus that I feel enough strong connection to be considered partly feral in the emotional ways. If it didn’t cost court or money paid to the government, I really love the wolves enough to face them, it’s mainly I don’t like that even if I’m just being a wolf’s friend how soon I’d have a large team that wanted to persue me, that’s what actually stops me. I care about the safety of both, the wolf and me!

    Wishes, understanding caution, and enthusiasm shared here Jasmine Olson speaking.

  3. henrietta abeyta Says:

    That’s what I dislike about having to be in the special needs class even though I function well, I don’t like having to question Do You Really Accept Me no matter where I go, that’s a huge part of why I love dogs, you don’t have to question if they enjoy your company, and you don’t have to question the dog’s trust given to you either.

    I think that’s where my compassion shared with the wolves grows, the ways hundreds of people are impatient with the disabled class, and the impatience many show the wolves.

    Epilepsy and Autism, where I’d say Grandma’s a huge vital specialty is, it doesn’t matter which gift of having each other every day we’re speaking of, with her, that none of them are being pretended is clear.

    Dingoes, Raccoon Dogs, Bush Dogs, Coyotes, Jackals, Painted Hunting Dogs, Red Wolves Gray Wolves from everywhere, Ethiopian Wolves, recent Coywolves, Part Dingo, Wolamutes, Huskies, Mixed breed sled dogs, in various ways your whole family is within my soul and you’ve all imprinted you paw prints on my heart I Hope Things Are Going Well In Your Territories, There Are Time I Wish I Lived Closer, And I won’t forget you dear Tasmanian Wolves either. Loneliness is one of the feelings I have to fight the most with being forced to be in the special needs class even though I function enough to volunteer.

    • janelindskold Says:

      Even those of us without your challenges face the question of whether people honestly like us or only like us because they think they can get something from the relationship. True friendship is always hard to find. You’re right. Animals are more honest. Stay brave.

      • henrietta abeyta Says:

        I sure appreciate your friendly sayings dear Jane Lindskold they help me keep my hope at the right level. Plus how nice it feels when some true harmony is found by surprise, thank you.

        Jasmine Olson expressing the emotional enjoyments of having Jane as a Internet acquaintance who’s peaceful.

  4. Jim Says:

    When is your next Artemis Awakening Book coming out?

    • janelindskold Says:

      The next “Artemis” book is not scheduled, since Tor felt the series was not selling well enough for them to remain interested. This does not mean I have lost enthusiasm, but the lag time may remain longer.

      I was puzzled by this question initially, because “Jim” is usually my husband, but then I saw you are a Mr. Graywolf!

Leave a Reply

