FF: Reading Tonight and Always

Tonight I’m giving a reading of a yet unpublished short story at the meeting of ASFS, the Albuquerque Science Fiction Society.  Hope to see some of you there!

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

Starlight Reads!

Starlight Reads!

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The Man in the Tree by Sage Walker.  Advanced Bound Manuscript of forthcoming release.  Not your usual car chase murder mystery, but a thoughtful examination how murder impacts a closed community – in this case on a generation ship about to set off for the stars.

The Beasts of Tarzan by Edgar Rice Burroughs.  Audiobook.  Weaker than the prior two, with too much repetition and a plot that relies on both Tarzan and Jane being really dumb.

In Progress:

Goldenhand by Garth Nix.  The first novel to carry the excellent “Old Kingdom” series forward since Abhorsen.  So far an interesting journey.

The Golden Specific by S.E. Grove.  Audiobook.  Sequel to The Glass Sentence.

Also:

Almost done with the issues of The Wicked and the Divine graphic novel I have on hand.  I can’t help but think Roger Zelazny would have liked this, too.

9 Responses to “FF: Reading Tonight and Always”

  1. henrietta abeyta Says:

    Finding the good qualities easily, dumb isn’t how find the two Jane Lindskold.

    Tarzan Courage and protective
    Jane Gentle and Loyal, especially with Tarzan.
    The female gorilla who found Tarzan thoughtful and assertive.
    Tarzan’s young female gorilla friend tolerant and helpful.

    Jasmine Olson speaking.

    • janelindskold Says:

      One warning, Jasmine. You’d find the novels quite different than the Disney movie. Tarzan can be very violent, eats raw meat, and has a lot of hate in him. Jane is not always loyal, in fact, she has a lot of doubts about Tarzan. And Tarzan has no friends among the apes, only subjects who are afraid of him.

      Given your tastes, stay with the movies! They’ll give you more of the sort of lessons you enjoy.

  2. Elene Says:

    A plot that relies on humans being really dumb sounds quite realistic right now!

  3. Alan Robson Says:

    Edgar Rice Burroughs’ Tarzan novels are so often under-rated and dismissed as trivial. I think that’s a shame — some of them (particularly the early ones) are very sophisticated. He blotted his copybook with the formulaic later novels (don’t EVER read “Tarzan and the Leopard Men” — I read it and I was permanently scarred), but he remains a hero of mine. The brilliant satire of “Tarzan and the Ant Men” never ceases to amaze!


    -Alan (the Burroughs Fan)

    • Louis Robinson Says:

      Owned all the Tarzan books in the Ballantine reprint. Once the Golden Age was over and I turned 14 I carted them all off to the second-hand store and haven’t touched them since. I wonder if I’ve become more tolerant as I mellowed – probably not, the rabid chauvinism will probably get to me even worse. And 50 years later I’m still amazed by the ignorance that would have a bunch of medieval aristos cool with a “Knight Tempar” romancing their princess.

      I suspect that Leopard Men was one of the ones I didn’t reread, although I would have owned it. At 12 one can still edit memories as needed, so it didn’t traumatise me. In fact, even after checking Wiki I don’t remember it. Which appears to be a very good thing indeed.

  4. henrietta abeyta Says:

    Jane is poor Mowgli chased originally by more animals than the Disney movie shows?????? The fiction book titled Griffin’s Castle included the Jungle Book as a tiny part of its own core / summary I’d say both. But some of the animals weren’t a familiar team member to me……….

    Pelican????????
    Vulture
    Apes?????????
    Lioness??????
    Hyena???????
    Wolf
    Bear

    In this story they hid in a garden of a big house that had griffins instead dragons, which happened by accident days ago.

    I’d liked the fiction book titled The Wolf’s Boys much more than the Jungle Book. Kai was a luckier kid than Mowgli and The Wolf’s Boy is an Ice Age time tale. Kai’s problem is he’s thought of as a cursed kid. You may enjoy discovering the rest of kai’s whole story on your own dear Jane. Part one made me frown with bits of sorrow for Kai The Wolf’s Boy but part one also helped me see enough synonyms of the word cursed to gain some emotional strength and firmly tell myself okay now even if I’m considered anything equally as rude at least I know the meaning clearly enough to ignore the people and avoid irritation. part had sections that could make me laugh a bit, and at the very end this kid Kai was happy enough to return home with his female wolf friend who was still a pup just recently grown tall enough to hunt.

    Cursed
    Unlucky
    Retarded
    Outcast
    Strange
    dumb
    Useless
    Weak
    Harmful
    Unique in a way most find scary
    Scary spell casted upon

    These are the synonyms I figured out!!!

    pleasant results after I read these two chapter books in fiction myself. Jasmine Olson sharing more fiction facts, and opinions, plus recent lessons.

  5. henrietta abeyta Says:

    The Good Result Is I’m more ready to handle negative reputation even if spoken. I’m pleased that even with my Autism I function enough to quickly learn the helpful stuff!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

