FF: Espionage, Tall Ships, Ninjas!

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine).

Ziggy Reads

Ziggy Reads

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo.  Full story, but ends with a set-up for a sequel.

The Golden Ball and Other Stories by Agatha Christie. Audiobook.   Agatha Christie had more range than people realized.  These tales are very much in the vein of P.G. Wodehouse.  Collection also included some of the short stories from her fantasy/horror collection The Hound of Death.

N or M by Agatha Christie.  Audiobook.  Tommy and Tuppence have been told they’re too middle aged to be of use in this “new” war, but then a peculiar problem arises and they may be just the people to deal with it.

In Progress:

Wildwood by Colin Meloy.  Younger YA or middle grade adventure.

The Nutmeg of Consolation by Patrick O’Brien.  Audiobook.  I’ve read the whole series, but it’s been a long time.  I don’t remember much about this one specifically, but I do recall it was a particular favorite.

Also:

Continuing Naruto re-read with issue 33 and following.  Also, as Christmas draws closer, looking through a lot of crafts books.

2 Responses to “FF: Espionage, Tall Ships, Ninjas!”

  1. Dawn Says:

    I acquired most of the Aubrey/Maturin series about a year and a half ago. I wanted them because I love the movie Master and Commander, the Far Side Of The World. I have not read them yet though. I need to find a couple of them to finish the collection. I am trying to find them with the same cover style so I have a matched set. I will start to read them as soon as I can..

    • janelindskold Says:

      They’re really good. Walter Jon Williams turned them on to Jim who, in turn, turned me on to them. I started reading them when Jim and I were first dating, so their inextricably twined with our courtship.

Leave a Reply

