FF: Wooded Lands and Wooden Ships

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine).

Starlight Wonders if Wild Woods Are Yummy

Starlight Wonders if Wild Woods Are Yummy

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Wildwood by Colin Meloy.  Younger YA or middle grade adventure.  Strong on setting but characters were a bit flat.

The Nutmeg of Consolation by Patrick O’Brien.  Audiobook.  Held up to fond memories, but definitely not where to start the series.

In Progress:

The Wild Wood by Charles deLint.  By weird coincidence, I came across this book – which somehow I’d missed – just when I started Wildwood, so of course it had to be my next read!

The Truelove by Patrick O’Brien.  Audiobook.  The Surprise is off to the rescue.

Also:

Continuing Naruto re-read and am up to issue 40.  Also, as Christmas draws closer, looking through a lot of crafts books.

3 Responses to “FF: Wooded Lands and Wooden Ships”

  1. Louis Robinson Says:

    Well, forging steadily ahead through ‘wot I red’ [Alan, please tell me you’re making this up – i can believe the whiteboard landing on your head, and i can believe the projector blowing up, but on consecutive days???]

    Dipping into various items Alan has recommended as they come to hand. Jury’s still out on his suitability.

    Just finished Michelle Sagara’s Cast in Sorrow & Cast in Honor.

    • janelindskold Says:

      Do you actually have any one person in your life whose reading tastes match your own perfectly?

      I have several valued “book chat” friends, but even with them, agreement is definitely not over about 75%.

      • Louis Robinson Says:

        Not at all, and don’t expect to. In fact, I can already tell that Alan likes a lot that I wouldn’t, because of the genres [not big on gore, myself] – but he does an excellent job of making it clear what _kind_ of book he’s reviewing. What I’m still working out is how often, for the kinds of book I might want to read, what he enjoys will be what I enjoy. That wasn’t a joke about not really finding a compatible reviewer since the death of Paul Schuyler-Miller.

        In any case, regardless of the overlap or otherwise in reading taste ‘wot i red on my hols’ is an absolute delight in its own right. I’m really sorry I didn’t pursue it when you first introduced Alan. But I’m still not convinced the projector really blew up the day after the board hit him on the head 🙂

Leave a Reply

