FF: Back!

With the holidays over and Jim in the field, I have more time to read.

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine).

Look!  Walter's New Book!

Look! Walter’s New Book!

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Kim by Rudyard Kipling.  Re-re-re-listen, in part because I had the tape in the house and in part because I love it.

Impersonations by Walter Jon Williams.  A short novel in his Praxis sequence.  Deals with Sula on Earth, meetings with lost “relatives,” intrigue, and assassination attempts.

In Progress:

Extreme Birds by Dominic Couzens.   Great photos and short descriptions, focusing on oddities.  Still very interesting.  I need to restrain myself and only read a half-dozen or so entries a day so I absorb the material.

Naruto.  Keeps getting darker as old lies and older rivalries surface.  Issues 56-57.

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett.  Audiobook.  I found this on CD at the library, because I’m still having trouble with MP3 downloads.  I haven’t read in a long time, maybe since it was released and Roger gave me a copy.

Also:

Guns edited by Gerald Hausman.  Anthology that contains my short story “Choice of Weapons.”

Leave a Reply

