Event and Eventful

This coming Saturday (April 29th), I’ll be over at Page One Books here in Albuquerque between 3:00 pm and 4:30 to help out as they join in the Independent Bookstore Day celebration.

Me at a past Page One event

Why are we celebrating independent bookstores?  Well, the folks at Page One explained this so well, that I’m just going to quote them.

“Independent bookstores are not just stores, they’re community centers and local anchors run by passionate readers. They are entire universes of ideas that contain the possibility of real serendipity. They are lively performance spaces and quiet places where aimless perusal is a day well spent.

“In a world of tweets and algorithms and pageless digital downloads, bookstores are not a dying anachronism.  They are living, breathing organisms that continue to grow and expand. In fact, there are more of them this year than there were last year. And they are at your service.”

This coming Saturday (April 29th), I’ll be over at Page One Books here in Albuquerque between there, ready to try and show you where to find just the book you’re hoping to find.  If I can’t, I’ll hand you over to one of Page One’s staff members.

Even if you aren’t looking for a specific book, I hope you’ll drop by and chat.  This is one of those rare events where I can just relax and visit – no panels, no scheduled events.   I hope you’ll come by…  Interested in a complete list of participating authors?  Look here.

Otherwise, this last week was marvelously busy.  I think we’ve finalized the cover art for the official When the Gods Are Silent e-book.  It’s pretty dramatic, in keeping with the trend I started with the cover art for the e-book of Smoke and Mirrors.

What?  You didn’t know that Smoke and Mirrors is now available as an e-book?  Yep!  It is.  Even if you already have a copy, this one includes an original afterpiece.   You can read more about the new e-book here.

I’m also immersed in writing a new novel.  The idea came to me a few weeks ago, hybridized with one I’ve been considering for the last several months, and has now taken over my creative brain.  I’m enjoying myself a great deal.

What next?  I’m really not certain.  There are a lot of variables in flux right now, so I’m focusing my sights on the immediate future, rather than investing too much energy in worrying about even a month from now.

Now, off to write.  My characters are about to…  Well, I’ll just need to start writing and find out!

4 Responses to “Event and Eventful”

  1. Louis Robinson Says:

    Please tag that passage for us. I’m now wondering if your characters have just set up to throw a wild and crazy party or stage a desperate mutiny. Or perhaps it’s both?

    • janelindskold Says:

      “Tag”? As for your suggestions… None of the above. It’s just that my characters seem to write the story. I supply the fingers to push the keyboard. Even when I start with a general idea how/where the story will go, things change. Often radically!

      • Louis Robinson Says:

        Since you decided to tease us about it, once the book is available, it would be nice to know just which section triggered the comment, so we can find out what was really going on.

        I really didn’t think I was anywhere close. That was just free association, although since writing it I have been considering the circumstances in which throwing a party could constitute an act of mutiny. Or is it the wild & crazy element that makes it mutinous? Hmmm…

      • janelindskold Says:

        Okay. If the scene makes it to the final draft, I promise! I wasn’t teasing. I was just showing you how it goes for me. Unlike my buddy David Weber who has told me the entire Honor Harrington series in detail, I never know where I’m going!

Leave a Reply

