FF: Transformative Biology

Every so often I go on a serious non-fiction binge, for no reason other than my brain wants more raw material to play with.  This round seems to be biology – oh, and a bit of military history.

Who Said I’m Domesticated or Tame?

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazines.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

How to Tame a Fox (and Build a Dog) by Lee Alan Dugatkin and Lyudmila Trut.  The first full-retelling of the fox domestication experiment.  Well-written and fascinating, accessible to a general audience without talking down to it.

The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald.  Audiobook.  A childhood favorite read by one of my favorite audiobook readers, the late Fredrick Davidson aka David Case.

In Progress:

Quartered Safe Out Here by George MacDonald Fraser.  Audiobook. Not by the author of The Princess and the Goblin. However, I came across this when looking to see if the library had the audio of The Princess and Curdie.  A look at the campaign in Burma during WWII, from the infantry, non-officer level – very intimate.  Also read by David Case.

Gardens of New Spain: How Mediterranean Plants and Foods Changed America by William W. Dunmire.  Jim gave me this for a gift.  Just started.

Also:

Almost done with my final proof of the e-book version of my twenty-some year-old novel When the Gods Are Silent.

2 Responses to “FF: Transformative Biology”

  1. Louis Robinson Says:

    I’m currently working on Barker & Rasmussen, The Etruscans. Unfortunately the only copy in the TPL is in the open stacks at the Reference Library, which means I have to go down there, so I’ve just finished chapter 2. However, that’s enough to know that I like their tone and I would definitely recommend it. The writing is far from dust-dry academic, but all the academic machinery is there [they’re running 100+ footnotes/chapter so far] and they’re using it to assemble a coherent narrative – or explain why one isn’t so far possible, as in the case of the problem of the origin of the Etruscans.

    • janelindskold Says:

      Sounds lovely. I miss dusty university libraries. I spent formative years with access to one, and there’s nothing like it. Any chance you can find a copy on the collectible market?

Leave a Reply

