WW: The Short of It

Back in January, as I celebrated the seventh anniversary of the Wednesday Wanderings, I mentioned that with my transforming schedule, there might be times when my Wednesday Wandering post would be less ambitious.

Happy Hollyhock

Guess what?  This week is one of those times.

Probably as a result of being sick for close on two weeks, I’ve fallen behind on a bunch of routine jobs.  The one thing that I haven’t let slide is my writing.  However, even that has taken up a greater percentage of my reduced pool of energy, and I’m not writing as much.  It’s frustrating, but when the writing goes well the high is well worth the effort.

As I begin to feel better, I’m adding back into my life many neglected tasks, none of which make for fascinating Wanderings, unless you want to discuss whether or not you balance your checkbooks.

The long and short of it is, I’m very busy but rather boring right now.

In fact, I’d welcome any questions that I might use as seeds for future Wanderings, because I envision this happening again as a few self-imposed deadlines take up more of my creativity.

On other fronts, despite almost no rain, the garden is doing well.  The wildlife is okay, although the toads are less visible now that they need to dig in to stay damp.

On that note, have a hollyhock and envision me busily typing away!

Catch you next week…

3 Responses to “WW: The Short of It”

  1. James M. Six Says:

    A few authors in their blogs have mentioned that they either no longer attend SF conventions or have greatly reduced their attendance at them, in part due to health reasons (either ongoing health problems or just avoiding con crud because it saps their ability to write). Additionally, fandom seems to be aging, based on what I see. There are fewer younger people at SF conventions than older people, excepting the big media cons which seem to be little more than just places to stand in line to get autographs and watching TV and movie stars on video screens because you can’t get into the SRO huge auditorium to see them live unless you spend the price of a small used car to get special access. The locally run cons seem to contain mostly folks aged 40 and up. So the question is, which cons do you attend and why do you still go?

    Also, something I’ve noticed more and more is that the local SF conventions are hugely made up of writers and those who want to be writers. Those who are fans first, with writing merely a hobby, are becoming rarer at local conventions, which are starting to shift their programming to serve the aspiring writers. It’s entirely possible to go to a convention, now, and spend 90% of your time with panels discussing the writing process, publishing, and such. The art shows are becoming sparser. The video rooms are almost empty most of the time. The games rooms have a few diehards. The masquerades some years have only 4 or 5 contestants. And the dealers room is now half full of independent and self-publishers, all gazing at you in that half-hopeful, half-aggressive “BUY MY BOOK” manner. Are you seeing the same thing at conventions you attend?

    • janelindskold Says:

      I couldn’t do a full WW on this, because I don’t attend enough conventions to provide comparison. I mostly go to cons when invited. I might go to more on my own nickle if there were more close by, but that isn’t the case. And I can’t afford jaunts that start with a plane ticket, add in hotel, food, etc.

      But I will say that Bubonicon is NOT at all like either extreme, and I think you’d like it.

  2. Maik Says:

    Yes! Finally something about medicine.

Leave a Reply

