FF: Seriously Fragmented

The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  They are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website.

This is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Snowdrop contemplates October

Snowdrop contemplates October

This week has been an interesting one…

What are you reading?

Recently Completed:

The Sphinx of the Ice Realm by Jules Verne, translated by Fredrick Paul Walter.  Looking for a stirring sea saga with bits of mystery, secret identities, and a neat twist at the end?  This Verne is for you.  I strongly suggest this translation for the notes and introduction.

Smoking Seventeen by Janet Evanovich.  Audiobook.

Explosive Eighteen by Janet Evanovich.  Audiobook.

In Progress:

Clariel by Garth Nix.  A prequel of sorts to the “Abhorsen” books.  I’m enjoying, although the “action” at the start is mostly internal.

The House of Hades by Rick Riordan.  Audiobook.  Yet another reader!  I miss Leo’s accent.

A Night in the Lonesome October by Roger Zelazny.  Still trying to hold to one chapter a day for the Twitter book club at #LonesomeOctober.  This is getting much, much harder as the plot gets more complex.

Land of Cinnamon Sun by John NizalowskiA collection of essays.  I’ve been reading an essay or so before bed.  Enjoying.

Also:

I’m starting to re-read my own short stories as part of putting together a collection.  Just read my first, published in 1990.

2 Responses to “FF: Seriously Fragmented”

  1. Chad Merkley Says:

    I think I may have to go back and read more of Rick Riordan’s stuff. I read the Percy Jackson books a while back, but not anything else of his.

    I read Adventures in English by Melvyn Bragg, and enjoyed it. In fiction, I read The Long War by Pratchett and Baxter. A very good book, building in interesting and deep ways on The Long Earth. I’m waiting for the library to get me a copy of The Long Mars. I also read A Call to Duty by David Weber and Timothy Zahn.

Leave a comment