Reading and Recuperation

Irises!

This is Jane with Jim handling the typing since I’m still in the bulky sling, which pretty much keeps me from using my right hand to type.

Today makes three weeks since the surgery to repair my right rotator cuff. I’m doing okay, but I won’t lie, pain and erratic sleep patterns definitely remain part of my daily landscape. Because of this I’ve been doing a lot of reading. We’re keeping a list, and it seems to be averaging out to a bit over a book a day. When I can’t sleep, I’ve been choosing something familiar so I won’t be tempted to read just to “find out what happens next.” During the daytime my choices have been a lot more varied. I’ll admit, at first I chose a lot of lighter works, but as I’ve gotten a little more clear-headed I’ve shifted to new to me, potentially more challenging works. Interestingly, I’ve hardly listened to any audio books because those are usually my backdrop for when doing chores or crafts, neither of which I’ve been able to do as much of as usual.

Rather than listing everything I’ve read over the last three weeks I’m going to pick about a half dozen titles for your amusement.

The Serpent Throne, by D. J. Butler. This fourth book in Butler’s epic fantasy, alternate U. S. history continues to hold my interest. Although the book itself has a satisfactory ending, clearly there is more to come in the series.

Dreamforge Anvil Issue 14. I enjoyed this eclectic assortment of stories focused on possible futures. There is also an interesting hopepunk essay, a couple of pieces about writing, and a poem as a garnish.

House of Daniel, by Harry Turtledove. Depression era minor league baseball with brushstrokes of alternate history and a dash of magic makes for a fun and absorbing read.

Chasing Doctor Doolittle, by Con Slobodchikoff. I bought this book years ago, but it languished on my shelf because I never thought I had time to get into its meaty subject matter. The subject is whether animals actually have language. I wish I’d read it sooner, as the author’s writing style is as accessible as any novel without forgoing ample scientific notations to support his arguments.

Just Stab Me, by Jill Bearup. This seemingly light novel may actually be one of the most subversive works about the challenges faced by a modern novelist in the current environment where stories are all too frequently reduced to marketing hashtags. Read for the admittedly delightful plot, but at least for me what made this a keeper was the commentary on writing.

A Hunger With No Name, by Lauren Teffeau. ARC of a forthcoming short novel I very much enjoyed and am still mulling over the ending. I’ll let you know when it’s out.

The Cat Who Saved Books, by Sosuke Natsukawa. This whimsical novel of self-discovery takes on the difficult question of why in our increasingly busy sound bite world we still need to make time to read.

That’s it for now. Next week I’ll let you know how my first venture into outpatient PT goes. Take care!

5 Responses to “Reading and Recuperation”

  1. elfprincess13 Says:

    Here’s to more sleep. It’s great you’ve been doing so much reading. If you are looking for a great PBS show we recommend Mr, Bates vs. the Post Office. David vs. Goliath story based on real events. Feel good!Rosemarie

  2. J Says:

    Re: Chasing Doctor Doolittle, by Con Slobodchikoff

    I’m not sure if it’s the sort of thing that might appeal to you/anyone else reading this, but the Youtube channel @NativLang’s last four videos have been on the same topic (to much less depth, I’m sure) over the past 5 months.

    They don’t update especially often as they animate each episode themselves, but it’s always something interesting for this non-linguist, and they have plenty of back catalogue if anyone does like their work/style and wants to see more from them.

  3. Beverly Martin Says:

    It is good to hear from you! I’m sorry you are still having pain and a lack of sleep. I hope you feel better each day.

    Thanks for mentioning D.J. Butler again. Before I forget again, I have requested one of his books from my library.

    Best Wishes to you and Jim!🤝

  4. Kim Says:

    Glad to hear things are progressing for you. Pain sucks! Lack of sleep makes everything harder! 🙁.

    I finally started reading/rereading the Miles Vorkasigan series, and I finally have an answer for you as to what order I’m doing it in – chronological, not published. (I hadn’t decided when you asked me before when I mentioned I was going to have to start at the beginning because I couldn’t remember which ones I’ve read before). So that means I’ve started with Cordelia’s Honor omnibus edition, which begins with Shards of Honor, which I’ve never read before.

    I’ve gotten a fair ways into it, and was enjoying it, but then three fiction library requests came in, 2 of which are renewable, so they both have to be finished within the allotted 3 week period! So I had to put the books I own aside for a bit. I’m currently doing a deep-dive into Star Trek Picard: Firewall, because they’re finally giving us the backstory (or one version of it anyways) for Seven – post Voyager and pre- Picard. The other book I’m reading is a sequel to a YA novel, called The Neptune Challenge. It’s about kids who are genetically transformed into water-breathing , sea-dwelling kids so that if climate change makes it impossible to live on land at least some humans will survive. And we’re just learning in book 2, there is also a plan to reverse climate change.

    The third library request is also a sequel (#3 in it’s series) but it’s on hold until I finish the first two. (Warlord by Elizabeth Vaughan. Part of her Warprize series). I just finished #2 recently after requesting it from the library too. (I’m still on the search for my own copy).

  5. Kim Says:

    btw, forgot to mention, love the picture!

Leave a comment