FF: Space, Stairs, and More

My options for audio book downloads from the library have just been cut in half due to something to do with Microsoft and DRM encrypting.  I am VERY unhappy.

Silver in Contemplation

Silver in Contemplation Mode

The Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include either short fiction or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett. Audiobook.  The setting is the star in this one.  The plot is solid and satisfying, except for toward the end when our smart protagonist seemed unable to figure out things I’d figured out long before.  Still, enjoyable.

Sammy Keyes and the Runaway Elf by Wendelin Van Draanen.  Sammy is blackmailed to find a missing dog.  She not only finds the dog, but learns some valuable things about how bitterness is beginning to sculpt her inner landscape.

A Talent for War by Jack McDevitt.  Alan and my discussion of McDevitt’s work led me to re-read this, the first of his Alex Benedict novels.  It held up very well to fond memories.

In Progress:

Bridges of Infinity by Lois McMaster Bujold.  Audiobook.  Just started.

Off Armageddon Reef by David Weber. Book one of his “Safehold” series.  I read it when it first came out and decided to dip in again.

Also:

Here’s a link to an interview with Gerry Hausman, whose poetry collection, Island Dreams, was part of my reading these last several weeks.

2 Responses to “FF: Space, Stairs, and More”

  1. Jay M. Says:

    Light week of pleasure reading, here, due to final term papers and then a few traveling days.

    Completed:
    Look to the Lady, by Margery Allingham (3rd Campion novel)
    The book explains some things the movie couldn’t fit, rather like the Harry Potter novels. Now, I get it. I’m also curious to see if the slightly darker, more dangerous Campion remains in play from now on.

    In progress:
    Library of the Dead (1st Will Piper novel), by Glenn Cooper.
    This one is a thriller which reuses an idea I saw in a Wil Wheaton movie. Having seen the OMG moment someplace else significantly reduces its impact upon further encounters. For example, I had read the allegedly nonfiction book “Holy Blood Holy Grail” ten years before “The DaVinci Code” was released. What everyone else was getting hot and bothered about, I saw as ho hum. The author Steve Perry likes to say “Life is a passing parade.” Unfortunately, I think I’ve seen this one, and I’m not that fond of the marching band in this one. Still, I’ll finish it out to see if the clowns at the end are more entertaining than the previous clowns.

    For the future:
    I don’t think I’ve ever read any Jack McDevitt but based on yesterday’s TT, I’m going to have to … in my copious free time.

  2. Paul Dellinger Says:

    Currently reading “Bury Your Dead” by Louise Penney, whose mystery series is set in Canada, for our library’s monthly mystery book club. Not far enough in to decide how much I like it.

Leave a Reply

