FF: Reading and Researching

The balance seems to be shifting toward non-fiction again.  I left out a bunch of books I’m skimming for research purposes.

Kel After Looking Up Catnip

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazines.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Why Do Clocks Run Clockwise and Other Imponderables? by David Feldman.  The occasionally dated nature of some of the material does not detract from the charm and fascination of these short – sometimes only a few paragraphs long – essays.

Speed Racer: The Official 30th Anniversary Guide by Elizabeth Moran.  Stumbled across this at the library and couldn’t resist.  I didn’t read the episode summaries, but the material on how the character came to be and how the story was subtly re-interpreted for American audiences was fascinating.

In Progress:

Colour Scheme by Ngaio Marsh.  Audiobook.  Re-listen.

Bridge of Words: Esperanto and the Dream of a Universal Language by Esther Schor.  Alan and my Tangent discussion on Esperanto a week or so ago led me to want to learn more about the context in which this language was developed and in which it continues to – if not thrive – at least exist.

Wicked Plants: The Weed that Killed Lincoln’s Mother & Other Botanical Atrocities by Amy Stewart.  Very informative and interesting.  However, I find the conceit that poisonous plants are “evil,” as if they act with intellectually calculated malice, a bit wearing.

Also:

Still re-reading Through Wolf’s Eyes by Jane Lindskold.  It’s been long enough that I can read this as if it was written by someone else.  Fascinating.

5 Responses to “FF: Reading and Researching”

  1. Paul Says:

    I have a friend who remembers Speed Racer fondly. I will have to look for that book for him.

  2. Peter Says:

    [quote]It’s been long enough that I can read this as if it was written by someone else.[/quote]

    Well, in some sense it was. (I know I’m not the same person today I was when I first read it.)

    • janelindskold Says:

      A very good point. What I meant was that soon after I write a book I can’t read it w/o remembering all the writerly decisions I made — especially the minor ones, like how to describe someone’s clothing or what food is being served or how to gently indicate a change in season.

      Now I’ve forgotten much of that fine tuning and go with the story as it unfolds.

  3. King Ben's Grandma Says:

    Go speed racer, go speed racer, go speed racer GOOOOO😀
    Ah…. memories of Saturday cartoons

  4. henrietta abeyta Says:

    Lesson, or adventure, I re-read your Firekeeper Saga repeatedly. Blind Seer, and Chap say things with similar meanings, and they both travel a distance from home. Firekeeper , and Magiere, both need to learn the truth of themselves, and decide carefully where they belong.

Leave a Reply

