FF: Time Capsule

Dandy: Rock n Roll Guinea Pig

Over the last week or so, quarterly magazines came in.  I was immediately struck by the time capsule aspect of them.  Only the one from AAA even mentioned Covid-19, which makes sense, since part of their business is travel.  All the rest belong to an alternate universe where travel is assumed, lock-downs aren’t even contemplated, and well…  You get it.

It will be interesting to see what next quarter brings.

For those of you unfamiliar with this column, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazines.  The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Y is for Yesterday by Sue Grafton.  Audiobook.  Despite being weighed down by the need for a good edit (repetition and redundancy in particular plague this), there are moments that remind me why I’ve read this entire series.

David Bowie: A Photographic Memoir Through the Lens of Terry O’Neill.  Mostly photos, spiced with reprints of text from interviews that O’Neill provided the visual images for and some pithy quotes by O’Neill.

In Progress:

David Bowie: The Oral History compiled by Dylan Jones.  An ambitious project, looking at David Bowie’s life through snippets from interviews with friends and family from childhood on.  Of interest is an afterword featuring material from Bowie’s cousin debunking the well-released theme that Bowie was haunted by the specter of familiar insanity. By contrast with the other, no photos other than those on the cover. Quite a long book, chronologically arranged.  I’m up to the Aladdin Sane period.

Death of a Fool by Ngaio Marsh.  Audiobook.  I love the folklore aspect of this one.

Also:

As mentioned, catching up on magazines.

11 Responses to “FF: Time Capsule”

  1. Beverly Martin Says:

    i really like your guinea pig’s Fabio hair!

    I finished Lords and Ladies by Terry Pratchett. The witches are some of my favorite characters.

    I started a book that has been on my TBR shelf for a long time – Galileo’s Dream by Kim Stanley Robinson. So far, it has been the story of Galileo, his telescope, and residents of other worlds. It is a little dry for my taste, but I will persevere.

    • janelindskold Says:

      Isn’t she lovely? She’s a mixture of two breeds: silkie and Peruvian. A pain to groom, but she’s a lovely person.

      I’m all for the witches, too, but I have a sneaking fondness for Commander Vimes. Nightwatch and Small Gods compete for my favorites. Along w/whichever one I’m reading at the time!!

      I get you on the dry…

  2. James Mendur Says:

    I’m in the middle of Seanan McGuire’s InCryptid series. I’m up to book 6, “Tricks for Free” (set at a DisneyWorld knock-off), of the 9 published so far.

    I also read Mark Finn’s novella “Roadtrip” about Eros and a guy who might be Elvis on a roadtrip in a Caddy (ca. 2000).

  3. King Ben's Grandma Says:

    I’m writing more than reading and it’s all in blog-land. The books will wait for me. They’re good friends, they wait for us to be ready.

  4. Harried Harry Says:

    I finally finished P. C. Hodgell’s Kencyrath series. Although written back in the 1980’s the series is being reprinted by Baen Publishers in both ebook and paperback. Very nice storyline with a very interesting set of characters. It would be nice if the author were to add another story to the series so we could see where Jame and other characters go in their lives.

    Great way to avoid going outside while the wind blows so hard.

Leave a comment